Minister Shaw Leads GOJ Delegation to IMF Annual Meeting

The Minister of Finance and the Public Service, the Honourable Audley Shaw, CD, MP is leading a Government of Jamaica delegation to Washington DC today to attend the Annual Meetings of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank Group (WB).

The three day IMF/WB Annual Meetings runs from Thursday October 6 through to Sunday October 9, 2016 and will include seminars, regional briefings, press conferences, and other events focused on the global economy, international development, and the world's financial markets.

During his 4-day travel overseas, the Minister will also attend the Commonwealth Finance Ministers Meeting, and the Joint Meeting of the Committees of the Boards of Governors of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and the Inter-American Investment Corporation (IIC).

Minister Shaw is expected to make an address and participate in a panel discussion on ‘Correspondent Banking Relationships, De-risking and remittances in the Caribbean’ at the Small States Forum at the World Bank on Thursday, October 6, 2016. Mr. Shaw will also participate in a breakfast meeting for Caribbean Governors of the IMF, with Madame Christine Madeleine Lagarde, Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund.

The Finance Minister is also scheduled to engage in a series of discussions with Luis Moreno, President of the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB) Mr. Kyle Peters, Vice President of the World Bank and Mr. Tao Zhang, Deputy Managing Director of the IMF.

The team will also be engaged in meetings with senior officials from the U.S. Treasury. Discussions during the high level meetings are expected to focus on Jamaica’s economic progress, economic corporation as well as the economic strategy and polices going into a new successor economic programme.

The Minister is accompanied by the Hon. Fayval Williams, MP, Minister of State; Mr. Everton McFarlane, Financial Secretary (Assigned); Mr Michael Thakur, Senior Technical Advisor to the Minister of Finance and the Public Service, Ms. Darlene Morrison, Deputy Financial Secretary, Economic Management Division and Mrs Hilary Robertson, Senior Technical Assistant/ BOJ Liaison to the Minister of Finance and the Public Service.

About us

Mission Statement
To facilitate trade, protect our borders, optimise revenue collection, through collaborative border management and delivery of high quality customer services and to develop and maintain a team of motivated professional and competent staff.


Jamaica Customs Agency

Customs House
Myers Wharf,
Newport East, Kingston 15
Phone: 876 922 5140-8 | 922 8770-3

Corporate Office
2-4 King Street, Kingston
Phone: 876 948 5151

Opening Hours
Monday - Thursday: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Friday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Follow Us      Twitter   Twitter